Conference Committee Chair

Sue Coppola, OTD, OT/L, FAOTA

Professional Affiliation:  Professor of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Position Statement: I became aware of occupational science in 1996 as I transitioned from work as an occupational therapist to become part of a faculty with occupational scientists. Being part of a learning community with colleagues and students has made me ever more curious and excited about occupational science. The advancement of occupational science can fill important gaps in understanding human action and experiences through contribution to profession of occupational therapy and other fields. SSO-USA conferences have served to deepen the discourse and culture of inquiry among scientists, clinicians, and students. The design of past conferences as a venue for meaningful dialogue, shared occupations, and spontaneity has made SSO-USA a “favorite” annual conference for many attendees. I hope to build upon this legacy by coordinating a team to creatively plan and deliver a memorable and inclusive scientific conference in 2024.

SSO Email[email protected]

Conference Committee Chair-Elect

Cynthia Evetts, PhD, OTR

Professional Affiliation:  Professor and Director, School of Occupational Therapy, Texas Woman’s University

Position Statement:  Being an active member of SSO-USA has re-energized my scholarly agenda in ways I could not have anticipated. The conference is what drew me in, and I look forward to these annual gatherings. I served as conference chair-elect in 2020 when the conference was canceled due to the global health crisis, and I was conference chair in 2021 when we pivoted to host an on-line conference for the first time. Although currently serving as secretary of the conference committee for 2024, I am ready to step into the role of chair-elect. I am excited about hosting the conference in Texas for the first time since the inaugural SSO-USA Conference in 2002 was held on Galveston Island. I aspire to continue the tradition of a strong research conference that challenges each of us to envision, inform and empower the impact of occupation on humanity, when we meet in 2025.


Past Board Conference Chairs

2023: Maren Voss, Utah State University

2022: Karen McCarthy, Dominican University of California

2021: Cynthia Evetts, Texas Woman's University

2020: Mariana D'amico, Nova Southeastern University

2019: Doris Pierce, Eastern Kentucky University

2018: Mariana D'amico, Nova Southeastern University

2017: Jeanine Blanchard, University of Southern California

2016: Jennifer Pitonyak, University of Washington

2015: Beth DeGrace, University of Oklahoma

2014: Linda Buxell, St. Catherine University

2013: Linda Buxell, St. Catherine University

2012: Tina McNulty, University of Utah

2011: Tina McNulty, University of Utah

2010: Betsy Francis, Eastern Michigan University

2009: Kim Hartman, Quinnipiac University

2008: Nancy Furgang, University of New Mexico

2007: Betsy Francis, Eastern Michigan University

2006: Debra Rybski, St. Louis University

2005: Pollie Price, University of Utah

2004: Sheama Krishnigiri

2003: JoAnn Wright, University of Utah

2002: Sheama Krishnagiri, Doris Pierce and Pollie Price (Co-Chairs)